Skip to content

The Death of Swagger

March 25, 2009

There is no shortage of folks that believe the word swaggerhas run its course.  It is slowly becoming  a linguistic pariah.  It’s a word that those of us in the hip-hop generation have used at nonstop for the past 5 years.  Now many of us  anxiously await the DEATH OF  SWAGGER, or any of its ilk.  The time has come for it to fall  the way of once  infamous BLING BLING and the hackneyed Grown & Sexy .  

Slang usually runs a natural course and disappears as the generation that once utilized it grows older.   This, however, is more than a case of slang running its natural course. There’s a level of  cornballness that is established with when a word attains commercial success to the point that the likes Old Spiceemploys it for use in one it’s campaigns. (remember when Paris Hiton and Bill O’Reily started saying BLING BLING and BOOTYLICIOUS got a place in the dictionary) That makes it ridiculously uncool and slovenly pejorative ( as it was intitially itended). Ironcialy enough, it was none of this that has lead me to retire this word from my vocabulary. It is the horribleness that is Soulajaboytellem. I can no longer advocate this level of bafoonery. So people I will not be “turning my swag on” ever again. I just can’t. Each time I say my once favorite word, I feel my IQ plummet and my stomach turn like I just walked in on folks doing the stanky leg. Seriously people, swagger once had a distinction of class that was associated with a Diddy white party. Now it has a connotation that can be readily associated with “supermanning a ho”. I can’t. It’s just too much.

With all of that said, I find it difficult to determine an apt replacement for a word that had been such a mainstay in my vocabulary.  There are few words that encapsulate the physical and personality traits that that word SWAGGER embodies.

Words that could replace it SWAGGER

PANACHE I cannot make cool varations like I can with swagger, like swag, swaggalicious, swaggeriffic, swagadocious, or swaggtastic. Yeah -good stuff.

BRAVADO
This just has way too many syllables.

Do you have any suggestions? Have you retired anything from your vocabulary? I’ll add to this list as I come up with more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2009 9:51 am

    I have retired “CRUNK” from my vocabulary. I am from Atlanta and we’ve been saying “crunk” since ’97! Then Lil’ Jon put the nation on… then it just got played out on a whole nother level. As did “shawty” and “bomb” all though i do find myself saying “bomb as hell” when referring to a good meal!

  2. April 3, 2009 1:54 pm

    I’ve been saying panache for years!! I even had a tshirt made about 2 yrs ago…but now I will burn it b/c of T-Pain!

Leave a Reply

